Nasser Al-Attiyah crowned the Dakar Rally champion for the fourth time in its history



Posted on: Saturday, January 15, 2022 – 11:01 AM | Last update: Saturday January 15, 2022 – 11:01 AM

Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah won the Dakar Rally for the fourth time in his career.

Qatari driver Nasser Al-Attiyah (Toyota) was crowned champion of the Dakar Rally for the fourth time after the years 2011, 2015 and 2019 at the conclusion of the last twelfth stage in Jeddah on Friday.

Al-Attiyah led the French Sebastien Loeb in the general classification by 27 minutes and 46 seconds, while Saudi Yazeed Al-Rajhi came third by one hour, one minute and 13 seconds.

“The feeling today is incredible. We are very happy,” Al-Attiyah said after his coronation.

On the other hand, Loeb was not upset with the result, saying, “At the beginning we thought it was over for us (he lost about 30 minutes in the second stage), but we struggled and managed to take second place.”

Al-Attiyah, 51, succeeded in winning two stages during the rally in addition to the preliminary stage, and none of his main rivals, veteran Stefan Peterhansel or Spaniard Carlos Sainz, managed to pose any threat to his lead.

In the motorcycle category, Britain’s Sam Sunderland won his second Dakar title after winning his first title in 2017.

Sunderland advanced over Chilean Pablo Quintania and Austrian Matthias Falkner.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here