Officially qualified teams for the final stage of the African qualifiers for the World Cup


date of publication:
November 16, 2021 21:25 GMT

Update date: November 17, 2021 0:50 GMT

The contract of the emerging teams to the decisive round of the African qualifiers for the World Cup has been completed, after Tunisia qualified for the decisive round in the African qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA World Cup after its 3-1 victory over Zambia in the last round of Group B today, Tuesday.

Tunisia’s qualification came hours after African champion Algeria qualified for the decisive stage in the African qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA World Cup after a 2-2 draw with its guest Burkina Faso after a tense end on Tuesday.

Senegal, Morocco and Nigeria qualified earlier, as well as Egypt, Cameroon, Ghana, Mali and finally the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In the same round, Morocco, which had previously qualified for the last round, achieved the full mark of success in the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers, with a 3-0 victory over Guinea in Rabat on Tuesday.

Coach Vahid Halilhojic’s team won for the sixth time in six matches at the end of Group I, raising its score to 18 points, 12 points ahead of its closest rival, Guinea-Bissau.

Morocco secured access to the deciding round with two rounds before the end of the group stage, after deciding the lead in the group that Sudan bottomed by three points.

Tunisia match

Returning to the Tunisia match, Issa El-Aidouni opened the scoring for Tunisia in the 17th minute, and Mohamed Drager added the second goal for the hosts in the 31st minute.

Left-back Ali Maaloul strengthened Tunisia’s superiority by scoring the third goal with a superb shot two minutes before the end of the first half.

Fashion Sakala reduced the difference for Zambia when he took a penalty kick, which was received by Farouk Ben Mustapha, Tunisia’s goalkeeper, in front of the striker, to hit the roof of the net in the 80th minute.

Tunisia won the qualification by maintaining the top spot in the group with 13 points, with only the first-placed team qualifying to the decisive round in the qualifiers.

After the rise of Tunisia and Algeria, the contract of qualified teams to the decisive round in the African qualifiers for the World Cup was completed.

The teams qualified for the final round of the African qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup:

First classification:

Senegal – Morocco – Algeria – Tunisia – Nigeria

second classification:

Egypt – Cameroon – Ghana – Mali – Democratic Republic of the Congo

The final round will be held in March with a play-off match between the two teams.

It is noteworthy that only the group leaders are from to the last round of the qualifiers, which includes a playoff match, the winner of which qualifies for the finals in Qatar next year.

The leaders of the ten groups will advance to the third and final round, which consists of 5 matches played in the home and away system as well, preceded by a draw to determine each of the two competing teams, and the five winners qualify directly to the Qatar World Cup 2022.

It should be noted that the record holder in the number of participations for the African continent is the Cameroonian team (7), followed by its Nigerian counterpart (6), and then Morocco and Tunisia (5 times).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here