A message from Queen Elizabeth to the England national team before the Euro final


Argentina won the Copa America soccer championship at the expense of hosts Brazil 1-0, Saturday, at the Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro, to win its captain, Lionel Messi, the best player in the world six times, his first major title with his country.

Thanks to Angel Di Maria’s goal midway through the first half, Argentina won their first title in the continental championship in South America since 1993.

Messi, 34, came out victorious in the confrontation that brought him together with Brazilian striker Neymar, his former colleague in Barcelona, ​​​​who is brilliant in this tournament with two goals and three assists, after a remarkable journey in a tournament in which he also won the titles of best player and best scorer equally with Colombian Luis Dias 4 goals).

Messi established himself as a star of the tournament with four goals and five assists.

Messi achieved what the two legends, the Brazilian King Pele and the late Argentine Diego Armando Maradona, could not do in the continental championship.

Messi was playing the fourth final in the Copa America, after losing in 2007 to Brazil with three, 2015 and 2016 against Chile twice on penalties.

Messi also lost the 2014 World Cup final in Brazil to Germany 0-1 after the extension.

In his long career with Albi Celeste, he won two not-so-great titles, the 2005 World Under-20 Championship, and the 2008 Beijing Olympics gold.

Argentina equalized the record for the number of continental titles, with 15 titles equal with Uruguay, while Brazil’s balance froze at nine titles and suffered its first loss at home in more than 2,500 days.

This is the first time out of 6 editions that Brazil is unable to win the title when it hosts the tournament.

While Messi did not score in the final, luck smiled to his colleague Di Maria, 33, the French winger of Paris Saint-Germain, who played a smart loot over goalkeeper Ederson who scored.

It was the fourth final between the two arch-rivals, Argentina won the 1937 final, compared to two victories for Brazil in 2004 and 2007.

Argentina won their last title in 1993 in Ecuador, when they beat Mexico 2-1 with the double of Gabriel Batistuta.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here