The English Premier League punishes the “Super League” clubs


imposed English Premier League Football, financial penalties for the 6 English clubs that joined the project European Super League Before withdrawing due to pressure on them.

The six major English clubs, Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Tottenham and Arsenal, which tried to join a European league separate from the usual league, agreed a collective fine of 22 million pounds ($31 million), at a rate of 3.5 million each. club.

Project collapsed European Super LeagueWhich also included 3 clubs from Spain (Real Madrid, Barcelona, ​​Atlético Madrid), and 3 from Italy (Juventus, Milan, Inter Milan), within 48 hours when the six English clubs withdrew from them, amid a violent reaction from their fans and the government.

Today, Wednesday, the English Premier League described the fines as a “goodwill gesture”, amounting to about 3.6 million pounds ($ 5.1 million) per club, with the proceeds of the fines invested in support of fans, popular leagues and community programmes.

“They sincerely apologize to their fans, clubs, Premier League and Football Association,” the league said in a statement.

The top six English clubs have also accepted a 30-point deduction and a fine of 25 million pounds ($35 million) if they attempt to join any similar type of competition in the future that are not part of the existing system.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here