Learn about the conditions for tourism in the European Union this summer | Politics and Economy | In-depth analysis with a broader perspective from DW | DW


With the number of people being vaccinated against COVID-19 on the rise, many are hoping to spend their holidays in the European Union this summer. The “Covid Digital Certificate” is scheduled to enter into force at the beginning of next July. The countries of the Union agreed to allow the entry of vaccinated tourists from outside the bloc to their territories. But the reality is something else; The EU countries apply different policies in different ways.

As the situation varies from country to country, here are the details of some of the rules and exceptions for vaccinated travelers in the EU:


France, the number one destination for international tourists, has fully opened its doors to vaccinators from June 9. According to new rules, vaccinated tourists from the EU countries and other countries such as South Korea, Japan and Israel can avoid being tested for Corona. Tourists from those countries can enter the country with a negative corona test.

In contrast, vaccinated tourists from France’s “orange list” countries no longer need a substantial reason to enter the country. This list includes countries such as the United States and most countries in Asia and Africa. Vaccines from those countries have been excluded from the quarantine, but they must show a negative corona test.

Unvaccinated people from Orange List countries may enter for a valid reason such as attending a funeral or receiving urgent medical treatment. The same applies to the “red list” countries, which include South Africa, Bangladesh, Chile and Colombia. People from those countries should self-isolate for at least a week – even if they are vaccinated.

Read also: Africa in the face of the Corona epidemic… an urgent need for greater support


Spain opened its borders to all restaurants from many countries around the world on June 7. Entrants from countries classified as “risk”, which includes most of the European Union and most countries of the world, can avoid quarantine by showing complete vaccination papers, recovery or negative examination.

Spain raised eyebrows in Europe by allowing free entry to tourists from Britain, regardless of vaccination. In return, most Europeans must present papers proving immunity to Covid-19 or a negative test. There are other restrictions imposed on those coming from India.


Greece is open to tourists from 50 countries including the EU, the United States, Russia, China and Canada. Those who wish to enter must present papers for receiving the vaccine, a negative test, or recovering from the disease. Greece considers a person fully vaccinated 14 days after the last dose. However, all travelers are required to undergo a rapid random corona test at the airport.


On May 25, Cyprus announced the opening of its doors to tourists from dozens of countries, including the countries of the European Union, the European Economic Area, Canada, Egypt, Serbia, Britain and the United States. Those coming from “orange” and “red” countries are subject to Corona tests. But all vaccinators are allowed in regardless of their country classification.

Unlike many other countries, Cyprus considers a person fully vaccinated once the last dose of the vaccine is received. All travelers must apply for a Cyprus Flight Pass before heading to it.


Europeans whose countries are classified as “orange”, “red” or “dark red” can enter Croatia if they have a vaccination certificate showing that they received the last dose 14 days before entry.

Croatia accepts a certificate of recovery or negative examination as an alternative to a certificate of vaccination. There are no exceptions for citizens of the few “green” countries in the bloc.

Tourists from outside the EU can enter with conditions that are slightly less or more than those imposed by Europeans if they present a document proving that they have paid the expenses for accommodation in hotels or furnished apartments in the country.

People from South Africa, Brazil and India are required to be quarantined regardless of vaccination.


Those wishing to travel to the Portuguese autonomous region of Madeira do not have to undergo a quarantine or any examination. According to an official website, all official vaccination and recovery documents are accepted to exclude the tourist from the examination. The remaining passengers must undergo a PCR examination, which Madeira offers free of charge.

On the Portuguese mainland, different rules apply as most travelers are required to show a negative test result regardless of vaccination.


Most trips to Germany from countries outside the European Union and the Schengen area are still limited except for emergency reasons. However, Germany has started accepting COVID-19 certificates in some cases when travel is permitted. While the arrivals are required to undergo a test before boarding the plane, those with a vaccination certificate are excluded from this examination.

While those who have spent time in a “dangerous” area must be quarantined, the quarantine may be terminated earlier if a vaccination document is submitted, according to the German Robert Koch Institute.

People coming from low-risk areas (like many EU countries and Turkey too) can also end quarantine as soon as they submit a negative test.

Those who were in countries classified by Germany as “of concern” such as Britain, Botswana, Nepal and Mozambique as of June 4 cannot leave the quarantine earlier. Even if he was vaccinated.

Other EU countries such as Denmark, Slovenia, Lithuania and Poland are following a similar approach to Germany at present; That is, it imposes restrictions on flights from outside the bloc, while waiving some examination and quarantine requirements for restaurants.

Some EU countries have bilateral agreements regarding national vaccination certificates. For example, Hungary does not impose travel restrictions on restaurants from Turkey, Slovenia and Serbia.

provides this This The European Union website is constantly updated information Regarding Travel restrictions to the 27 EU countries.

Rose Patrice Berchard/KS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here