Cannes Film Festival reveals the names of the jury members – our lives – cinema


The Cannes Film Festival revealed the names of the jury members, headed by Spike Lee, and most of them are women, including the lead role in the movie “Parasite”, Song Kang, singer Myleene Farmer, and French-Senegalese director Mattie Diop.

The festival said, in a statement, that the jury, whose members will watch 24 films in the competition, includes five women and four men from five continents and seven nationalities, including New York director Spike Lee.

The announcement of the names of the members of the jury was the latest important announcement that movie fans were waiting for, about the details of the festival, which will open on the sixth of next July, and the organizers have not yet revealed the film that will be shown at the conclusion.

The jury will choose the film that will be awarded the Palme d’Or as a successor to Bong Joon-ho’s “Parasite”, winner of the festival’s award in 2019, the last session held before the “Covid-19” pandemic.

The jury includes the main role in this South Korean film, which achieved international success, actor Song Kang, who played the role of the head of the family.

Also on the committee is the French actor of Algerian origin, Taher Rahim, who has gained international stature, after he emerged as a prisoner in Jacques Audiard’s “Anne Profit”, and is now making his way in Hollywood, where he recently took on, alongside Jodie Foster, the role of a Mauritanian in Guantanamo Bay in the movie “The Mauritanian”.

Also on the committee will be his fellow countrywoman, actress and director, Melanie Laurent, who directed with Cyril Dion the documentary “Doman” about the environment, one of the issues that the festival adopted this year.

Lauren is also no stranger to Hollywood, where she has been participating in a number of works since Quentin Tarantino’s “Inglourious Basterds.”

Among the committee members is another actress who has moved behind the camera, the American Maggie Gyllenhaal, who has become famous since the movie “The Dark Knight”, and is currently working on her first film as a director.

As for the directors selected for membership in the committee, they are Brazilian Kleber Mendonca Filho (“Bacurao”), who won the jury prize in the 2019 festival competition, Austrian Jessica Hausner “Little Joe” and French-Senegalese Mate Diop, whose film “Atlantic” about immigration won. , Grand prize.

The committee’s lineup was supplemented by the star of the French-speaking song, Mylene Farmer, who was born in the Canadian province of Quebec.

Among the films presented to the jury are works by well-known directors who have previously won awards at the festival, such as the Italian Nani Moretti for his film “Tree Pani” and the French Jacques Audiard for “Les Olympiads”, and Apichatpong Werasitakul for his first English-language film outside Thailand “Memorial” with Tilda Swinton and Jean Balibar.

Three films directed by French women, Mia Hansen-Love (“Bergman Island”), Julia Dokorno (“Titan”) and Catherine Corsini, are also competing for the Palme d’Or. The competition is also contested by the Russian Kirill Serebrenkov, who opposes the Moscow regime for his film “Petroves Flow”, and the Iranian Asghar Farhadi on the movie “Hero”, which was filmed in his country.

The festival will adopt strict health measures due to the pandemic, but it is expected that measures to limit restrictions on the number of attendees will be removed before its opening.

A number of international stars will be present on the red carpet, including Adam Driver and Marion Cotillard, the hero of the opening film “Annette”, directed by French director Leos Carax, and Matt Damon, who starred in “Still Water”, filmed in Marseille and shown outside the competition, in addition to Bill Murray and Tilda. Swinton and Benicio del Toro co-stars in “The French Dispatch”, Wes Anderson’s latest film.

Google Newsstand

Follow our latest local and sports news and the latest political and economic developments via Google news




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here