An honorary ‘Oscar’ by Samuel L. Jackson and Danny Glover… ‘A great influence on cinema and society’


The American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that actors Samuel L. Jackson and Danny Glover will be among four actors to receive an honorary Oscar next year for their contributions to filmmaking and the world.

The two actors will be among the recipients of the Academy’s Board of Governors Awards, which are presented at a ceremony in January. The other honorees are writer and director Elaine May and Norwegian actress Liv Ullmann.

Academy President David Rubin said in a statement that the honorees “have a profound impact on cinema and society.”

Jackson, who played Nick Fury in “The Avengers” and other “Marvel Universe” films, has appeared in more than 100 films. He was nominated for an Academy Award for his role as a killer in Quentin Tarantino’s Pulp Fiction.

Glover, star of the Lethal Web series, will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for his role in defending justice and human rights. He is currently a United Nations Goodwill Ambassador.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here