European Super League clubs subject to sanctions after UEFA agreement with “dissidents”


The European Football Association (UEFA) announced today, Friday, that the three remaining clubs in the “separatist” European Super League project, Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus, will be subject to sanctions.

This announcement comes after UEFA agreed with nine other clubs that initially joined the plan, before announcing their withdrawal less than 48 hours after announcing the establishment of the new league.

UEFA said in an official statement that the nine clubs, namely Manchester United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur and Arsenal from England, Milan and Inter Milan from Italy, and Atletico Madrid of Spain, signed a “declaration of commitment” that includes steps for “reintegration.”

read more

Rummenigge believes the European Super League

read more

After the withdrawal of most of the clubs, the bank financing the European Super League apologizes for adopting the new tournament project

“These clubs quickly recognized their mistakes and took measures that showed their remorse and commitment in the future,” said Alexander Ceferin, president of UEFA.

He added, “The same cannot be said about the clubs that are still linked to the so-called Super League, and UEFA will deal with these clubs at a later time.”

Uefa confirmed that it would now start disciplinary measures against Juventus, Real Madrid and Barcelona.

Ceferin added, “UEFA reserves the rights to take any appropriate action against these clubs, which have so far refused to give up the so-called Super League, and the case will be referred to the disciplinary committees concerned with UEFA.”

The nine clubs returning to UEFA agreed to “take all steps within their power” to end their link with the European Super League “as a gesture of goodwill.”

UEFA referred to the agreement with the clubs to donate a total of 15 million euros (18.23 million dollars) to serve children, youth and soccer fields in local communities in Europe, including Britain.

The clubs also agreed to deduct 5 percent of any revenue for participating in a single season in the Champions League or European League.

The agreement provides for the clubs to accept to pay 100 million euros in fines if they play in an unauthorized competition, or 50 million euros if another commitment from the advertisement is breached.

Twelve clubs announced the creation of the European Super League last month, but the plan collapsed after just 48 hours.

The Super League plans to increase revenues for elite clubs in Europe and allow them to distribute more money to the rest.

But UEFA saw, like other clubs and fans, that the Super League only serves the interests of elite clubs and that it is a closed competition against the long-term system of European football.

Source: Reuters


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here