Withdrawal of Qatar and Australia from the Copa America



Withdrawal of Qatar and Australia from the Copa America

The Secretary-General of the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) announced today, Tuesday, the withdrawal of Australia and Qatar from this year’s Copa America.

It was scheduled that the Qatari and Australian teams would join ten South American teams in the tournament hosted by Argentina and Colombia in June and July.

“Qatar and Australia will not participate in the Copa America,” Gonzalo Bioso said in radio statements.

The Qatar Football Association apologized after the withdrawal decision, which it said was made after the AFC decision to “postpone the remaining matches from the second round of the 2022 World Cup qualifiers to next June” due to the continuing impact of the repercussions of the Coronavirus pandemic. These new dates will clash with the Copa America.

read more

Prosecutor summons a medical committee to rule on Maradona's death

Australia, like Qatar, is a member of the AFC and will also be affected by this postponement.

This year’s Copa America is scheduled to be held in two countries for the first time in its history, with the northern group taking place in Colombia and the southern group in Argentina.

In addition to the ten countries on the continent, Australia and Qatar would also participate in the tournament.

The northern group included Colombia, Brazil, Ecuador, Venezuela, Peru and Qatar, while the southern group included Argentina, Bolivia, Uruguay, Paraguay, Chile and Australia.

The tournament will start in Buenos Aires on June 11, while the final will be held in Barranquilla, Colombia, on July 10.

Source: Reuters


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here