Follow these 5 tips from “Apple” to secure your devices and accounts

0
14


Apple has published a new 20-page support guide titled “Accessing devices and data when personal safety is at risk”

Whether you have some specific concerns about the security of your data and privacy, or are ready to quickly scan the Apple devices you use to make sure they are secure, today we’re going to review some important tips that Apple provides to help you with that:

1- Check the devices associated with the Apple ID:

You can check the devices that you signed in to with your (Apple ID) Apple ID through any Apple device you have, or through the Apple website.

First; How to check the list of devices associated with Apple ID in iPhone and iPad:

Go to Settings on your iPhone or iPad.
Click on your name, then scroll down and under the (Family Sharing) section, you will see a list of all devices associated with your Apple ID.

Click on the name of any device to view its information, such as: device model, serial number, operating system version, whether or not the device is reliable, and whether or not it can be used to receive Apple ID verification codes.
Information may vary by device, and you may need to answer security questions to see hardware details.

Second; How to check the list of devices associated with Apple ID on a Mac:

Click the Apple menu in the menu bar.
From the drop-down list that appears, click on the option (System Preferences).
Click on (Apple ID), a list of devices connected to your account will appear on the left side of the screen. Here, you can click on any device to view its data.

If you find any device that you do not want linked to your Apple ID for any reason; You can follow the steps below to delete:

After accessing the list of devices connected to your account, as mentioned in the previous steps, click on the device to view its details, then click on the option (Remove from Account).
Review the message that appears, then tap again to confirm that you want to remove the device.

2- Check Face ID and Touch ID settings:

Face ID lets you securely unlock your iPhone or iPad, authenticate purchases and log into apps, and more, in a secure way, once your face is recognized. Apple also lets you add a theme – if yours might look completely different – so that Face ID can recognize you.

So you should check your Face ID and Touch ID settings to see if there is an alternate appearance or fingerprints that can be used to unlock your device without your knowledge, and to do so follow these steps:

Go to Settings on your iPhone or iPad.
Click on the option (Face ID & Passcode), or the option (Touch ID & Passcode), depending on the feature supported by the device.
Enter the passcode, if prompted.

Look for an alternative appearance that you do not know, and if you find something, press the option (Reset Face ID), and after that, press the option (Set Face ID), to set it up again.

3- Check the Apple ID security settings:

Go to (appleid.apple.com), then log in with your (Apple ID)
Check the security section to make sure everything looks right, and if you haven’t already enabled the two-factor authentication feature, make sure to enable it, as this step is a very important part of securing your devices, accounts, and personal data.

4- Check apps:

Check all installed applications your devices for any application you have not installed, and if you already find an application that you do not know immediately delete it, and it is also advised to delete the applications that you have not used for a long time.

in addition to; If you care about protecting your privacy; You can take advantage of the (privacy stickers) feature launched by Apple to know the data that applications collect on you before installing them in your device, and to learn about the use of this feature, you can review the article: “How to check the data that any application collects before installing it in an iPhone or iPad.”

5- Search for (profiles) profiles that you do not know:

Profiles define the settings for using an iPhone with corporate or school networks or accounts. You might be asked to install a profile on your device for someone that was sent to you in an email message, or downloaded from a webpage. You are asked for permission to install it, and information about the file’s contents is displayed when you open it. Therefore you should check this section frequently to look for old or unknown profiles, and delete them:

You can see the profiles you have installed by following these steps:

Go to settings.
Click on the General option.
Click on the option (Profiles & Device Management). If you find any profile you do not know, delete it immediately. If you delete the profile (profile), all settings, applications, and data associated with it will also be deleted.







LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here