A startling discovery … germs can be transferred between planets

0
52


Last updated: Friday 9 Muharram 1442 AH – August 28, 2020 KSA 12:46 – GMT 09:46
Publication date: Friday 9 Muharram 1442 AH – August 28, 2020 KSA 12:27 – GMT 09:27Source: Al Arabiya.net, France Press

Japanese scientists revealed that a test they conducted on the International Space Station showed that a bacterium stayed 3 years alive in space, which means that simple life forms can be transmitted from one planet to another.

The authors of this study, which was published in the journal “Frontiers in Microbiology”, explained that this discovery confirms the theory that microorganisms can transport life from one planet to another.

Expressive

To confirm the validity of this theory, researchers placed the bacterium “Dinococcus radiodurance” in the outer part of the International Space Station at an altitude of 400 km.

It was found that the germ survived for 3 years despite the harsh climatic conditions, and the very strong exposure to ultraviolet rays and large temperature differences.

“I knew she would survive after several tests in the laboratory, but I felt relieved when she came back alive,” study author, professor at Tokyo University of Pharmacy and Life Sciences, Akihiko Yamagishi, told AFP.

“Everyone believes that the origin of life is on Earth, but new discoveries show that life may have also started on other planets,” he added.

In this sense, it could be that they were spores that were transported to Earth from Mars, at an age when there was a simple form of microbial life on the Red Planet.

Yamagishi and his team hope to conduct other, similar studies that include exposing the germ to stronger radiation.



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here