Trump intends to expand the travel ban to the United States



Image source

Image caption

Sudan may be among the countries included in Trump’s new ban on travel to the United States

US President Donald Trump has said that he plans to extend the travel ban to the United States to other countries, to prevent more foreign nationals from entering US territory.

According to the current ban that Trump signed two years ago, the US border has been closed to citizens of seven countries, most of which are predominantly Muslim.

The decision forbids citizens (Libya, Iran, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, North Korea, and Venezuela) to the United States in any way, whether by air, sea, or through land borders.

Under Trump’s new plans, other countries are likely to be added to the ban list from Europe, Africa and Asia, according to US media.

Trump personally confirmed the existence of such plans and sought to prevent citizens of more countries from reaching the United States.

“You see what is happening in the world, our country must be safe,” he told reporters at the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, on Wednesday.

Trump did not provide further details about the countries to be targeted or their number, but said the information would be released “very soon.”

A Hawaiian judge freezes Trump’s travel ban

The Trump administration announces new visa requirements

North Korean, Chad and Venezuela citizens added to the US travel ban

The expanded list of embargoes, first reported by Politico, may include countries like Belarus, Myanmar (Burma), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania.

American media reported that the US administration had examined various copies of this list for weeks.

Image source

Image caption

The Supreme Court upheld the previous ban and considered it in conformity with the US Constitution

Reports that talk of extending the travel ban to America coincide with the third anniversary of Trump’s signing of the first ban list.

Trump signed the controversial decision seven days after he took office as President of the United States in January 2017, and initially excluded travelers from seven Muslim-majority countries.

The list was modified after a series of judicial appeals, and now some (but not all citizens) citizens have been banned from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela and North Korea.

In June 2018, the Supreme Court upheld the ban and considered it in conformity with the U.S. Constitution, and rejected lower court rulings that it found to be inconsistent with the constitution.

White House spokesman Hogan Gedley said in an official statement that the administration had no new planned announcements related to the embargo. He described the previous ban as “extremely successful in protecting our country and increasing safety around the world.”

“According to logic and national security rules, if any country wishes to participate fully in US immigration programs, it must also comply with all security and counter-terrorism measures,” says Gedli. “Because we do not want terrorism or any national security threat to enter the United States.”

Critics of the ban responded that major attacks such as the September 11, 2001 attacks in New York, the marathon bombing in Boston and the Orlando Night Attack were carried out by nationals of countries not included in the ban list or carried out by people born on American soil.

In contrast to the preliminary list, the new list may include countries that have a strong relationship with the United States. Nigeria, for example, is a partner in the fight against terrorism for the United States.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here