Hours before the qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup Qatar in Qatar .. Find out all the details


Football fans in the continent await the draw for the second round of the African qualifiers for the Qatar World Cup, which will be withdrawn in Cairo today, at eight o’clock Mecca time.

40 teams participated in the second round (group stage), are the 26 top-ranked teams in the International Federation of Football (FIFA), which was exempt from the first round qualifiers, in addition to 14 teams qualified from the first round, in which the lowest 28 teams participated in FIFA rating.

The 40 teams participating in this round will be distributed to 10 groups, by 4 teams in each group, after they were divided into 4 levels, according to the last global classification of teams issued by (FIFA) last month, provided that each group includes one team from each level of The four levels.

The four levels will be as follows:

First level: Egypt, Tunisia, Nigeria, Algeria, Senegal, Morocco, Ghana, Mali, Cameroon and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Level two: Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, South Africa, Guinea, Uganda, Cape Verde, Gabon, Benin, Zambia and Congo Brazzaville.

Level 3: Madagascar, Mauritania, Libya, Mozambique, Kenya, Central Africa, Zimbabwe, Niger, Namibia, and Guinea-Bissau.

Fourth level: Malawi, Angola, Togo, Sudan, Rwanda, Equatorial Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Liberia and Djibouti.

The participating teams in this stage of the playoffs are running a league in which each team plays 6 games, to ascend to the third (last) round, ten teams topped one of the ten groups.

The dates of the second round of the African qualifiers

The first round, 5-13 October 2020

The second round, 9-17 November 2020

Third and fourth rounds, 22-30 March 2021

Fifth Round – August 30 to September 7, 2021

– The last sixth round, 4-12 October 2021

Final stage

The ten teams that qualify for the last round will be divided into two levels according to the “FIFA” classification, with 5 teams in each level, with each team from the first level playing with one of the second level teams in the first-leg matches, and the winner of the total of the two World Cup matches will rise to qualify at the end of 5 African teams to the 2022 World Cup, to be held in Qatar.

This is the last edition of the World Cup in which 5 teams from Africa participate, after FIFA decided to increase the number of teams from the continent participating in the World Cup to 9 teams starting from the version of 2026 scheduled in the United States, Canada and Mexico, in which 48 teams will participate for the time The first in the history of the championship instead of 32 teams, as is currently the case.

The eight Arab teams (Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt, Algeria, Libya, Sudan, Mauritania, Djibouti) are participating in the group stage to advance in the qualifiers in order to reserve one of the five cards to go up to the Qatari World Cup.

The Moroccan and Tunisian teams share the record as the most Arab-African team participating in the World Cup with 5 entries each, while the Algerian national team has been present in this world forum 4 times.

Egypt, which won the first Arab appearance in the World Cup in 1934 in Italy, was satisfied with participating in 3 copies of the championship, while the teams of Libya, Sudan, Mauritania and Djibouti are looking for their first participation in the competition.

And participated in the last World Cup in Russia, Tunisia, Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria and Senegal.

Source: Agencies


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here